The Sweetness of a Matcha Latte

Matcha Latte

Instead getting a dose of my usual boba milk tea, I opted for a matcha latte this afternoon.

It had been a while that I have had in my head to make a matcha latte. I made a trip to a Japanese market to load on matcha powder. I am fond of tea and milk and mixing them together seem so fitting for an afternoon drink.

Matcha Latte

Matcha is both a stimulant and a relaxant, perfect for focusing on work, meditation, exercise or play. It is an antioxidant wonder  (17 times of wild blueberries) which is great for health.

Matcha Latte

This drink is great to add a little honey to sweeten the taste and bitterness of the matcha. It is also a great refreshment for a nice little gathering with friends.

Matcha Latte

Matcha Latte

Serving: 1 cup

Ingredients:
1 tsp matcha powder
2 tsp water
8 oz milk, soy milk, or almond milk
honey

Preparation
Mix together matcha powder and water in a cup, until powder all dissolve.

Bring milk to a boil in a small pot on medium heat. Stir frequently.

Pour hot milk to matcha mixture while stirring.

Add honey to sweeten the drink.

Enjoy!
Blog Signature-3

This entry was posted in Drink, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Sweetness of a Matcha Latte

  1. Mmmm I love matcha latte! Definitely better to make it at home than to spend like 4 bucks at a coffee shop.

    • Irene says:

      Yes! That’s about the price of a whole can of matcha powder which you could make like 60 cups of matcha latte to enjoy anytime and whenever :)

  2. bondingtool says:

    That’s great savings but we can’t buy a whole can of matcha for that price here in Singapore. Still I’m sure it’ll be cheaper to brew at home. Nice presentation… time for tea :D

  3. trendbytes says:

    I know its lame, but my favorite (and only) drink at Starbucks is the green tea latte, with half the amount of sugar. They use matcha powder too, and at least it’s convenient and better for you than most of their other items…yours looks dreamy!

  4. kawaidenyse says:

    Matcha Latte is the most wonderful drink ever :)
    Great tastebuds you have there, literally.

  5. love your photos! I bought matcha a few months ago to make a latter, but haven’t made it yet…thanks for the reminder ;-)

  6. heartEdu says:

    Mmm! I love matcha! I always tell myself to be patient and let the milk I’ve boiled cool a bit before I mix it with the powder. Apparently, it doesn’t take much to burn it even though I can’t taste it. I am loving the tea ware!

  7. what wonderful colors and photos!

  8. IRENA & dots says:

    It is ‘just’ a tea, but somehow you made a real story out of it! Bravo!

  9. Jenn Hulehan says:

    I’ve never had it, but it sounds super yummy!

  10. WT Dufrane says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Now I know where to come when I get hungry.

  11. gotasté says:

    My friend, don’t be lazy. Go look up a job as an art director in a 5 star creative agency. The industry is short of talents like you. :-)

  12. petit4chocolatier says:

    Irene, I love your pictures! This looks delicious!

  13. You have a beautiful blog! Glad I found it! :)

  14. luvmuffins43 says:

    This sounds gorgeous! I’m definitely going to try this! I’ve been indulging in vast amounts of milk tea and want to change to something with less sugar. Do you know how to make homemade boba milk tea? If you do I would love a recipe. I tried myself but I didn’t cook the boba pearls right and it all tasted a bit odd. Thank you.

  15. Loving the strawberry pocky! I just picked some up for myself last night, and now you have me thinking of pairing it with Matcha Green Tea. They go perfectly together (:

    Alice

    http://borderlinefab.wordpress.com

  16. Pingback: Until Next Time Waterloo | Eat Pray Bake

  17. jessie9868 says:

    I have nominated you for the beautiful blog award
    Xx

  18. hilal achmar says:

    Hmmmmm…. I will try your matcha-latte. I am sure it’s match…. :) Hilal Achmar

Fruit for Thought

