Apple Crunch Cinnamon Muffin (gluten free) – TGIF

Time really flies. Fall is already here. Looking out the window as I was eating yogurt with slices of roasted nectarines for breakfast.

Searching through the refrigerator, there was a few Fuji apples left. When I think of fall, I think of apples. The fallen leaves and apples have similar colors – red with a bit of glowing golden yellow.

There had been a slight sign of autumn over here. Mornings started to feel a bit chilly which explained why it had been hard to get out of bed. I just wanted to snuggle under the comforter to check emails, facebook, read morning news, and TMZ on my iPhone (it’s like a mini laptop). Before I knew, half an hour had pass as I jumped out of bed.

This felt like a lazy Friday where I just wanted to stay in all day and bake something. Bake something to warm up the kitchen, the family room, and the entire home. Bake something to make the house smelled like flour. I wanted it to smell like a bakery. Have you ever walk in a bakery and say that you could live there? I admit, I did and many many times.

I thought of apple and cinnamon. Cinnamon sat around in the pantry for awhile and needed to be used. Apple cinnamon muffin is a traditional and basic type of muffin. It reminded me of childhood. It was the very first muffin that I had in America. It brought a slight of comfort and warmth to my heart as I bite into it. I could hear the crunch in every bite of the apple in the mouth. It was soft but crunchy. The soft and crunchy texture balanced each other.

W took a bite and then mumbled with a full mouth, “I want second.”

I enjoyed one with a cup of tea later that afternoon too.

The house smelled like cinnamon and fall.


Apple Crunch Cinnamon Muffin (gluten free) adapted by allrecipes.com
Serving: 12
Ingredients:
3 cups gluten free all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp + 1 tsp gluten free baking powder
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
2/3 cup unsalted melted butter
2 eggs
2/3 cup milk
2 large Fuji apples, peeled, cored, chopped in cubes

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 400 degree (Fahrenheit). Grease 12 muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners. Set aside.

Stir together gluten free all-purpose flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon. Mix in the melted butter. Stir well to reduce the crumbs. Set aside 1/2 cup of the mixture.

Add egg and milk to the mixture and mix well. Fold in the cubed apples.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling to the top of the cup. Sprinkle the set aside dried mixture over the batter in the muffin cups.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Fruit for Thought

