Couscous Fennel Pomegranate Herbal Salad

Jason Mraz was in the house!!!

Not exactly in my house…more like a concert house. I was lucky to be at the concert to enjoy his extraordinary and talented performance. Oh my, his voice…oh his voice was gorgeous. It was as crisp as Swarovski crystal. I could to listen to this vocal day and night. Aside from his beautiful vocal, Jason seemed to have a big heart. He talked about the environment. He talked about Prop 32. He talked about being green. W, did his homework, told me Jason is a raw vegan and lives a very health-conscious lifestyle which at first surprised me. There were moments when he talked I would raise my eyebrows and went…ooo…ooo…ooo. I felt like he was some kind of a spiritual guru which totally fascinated me. Now, Jason is an inspiration.

The next day I made a salad for lunch, to be health-conscious like Jason Mraz, which I also try to incorporate into my lifestyle.



I had this beautiful red pomegranate sitting in the fruit basket. They looked like the right color to be consumed. I was ready to try new ingredients for this salad. Fennel – never cooked with it. Couscous – never cooked with it. This turned out to be a fun and successful experiment because W liked his salad.

Couscous Fennel Pomegranate Herbal Salad adopted from bon appétit
Servings: 4
Ingredients:
1 cup couscous
2 fennel bulbs, cut lengthwise into 1/4″ thick slices or quarters
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 cup chopped fresh mint
1 tsp chopped fresh dill
4 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 small pomegranate
salt and freshly grounded pepper

Preparation
Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add fennel. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for about 13 – 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until fennel is just tender and lightly golden. Add cumin and sugar; cook for another minute. Set aside.

Meanwhile, bring add 3 cups of water and couscous to a boil in a pot. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer until couscous is cooked, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes. Drain and return to pan. Add 2 tablespoons of oil and set aside.

In a large bowl, pour in the couscous and fluff with a fork. Add fennel mixture, herbs and lemon juice. Toss gently to incorporate. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer salad to a platter; sprinkle with pomegranate seeds to serve.

This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Quick Meal, Salad, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Fruit for Thought

