It’s My Birthday and I Eat Too Much


This post should say “It WAS My Birthday” because my actual birthday was couple day ago. But with the amount of delicious food I have indulged over the last few day that are still in digestion, the celebration does not seem to have ended.

The eating began with a plate of juicy lamb chop over a “belly dancing” conversation with some close friends who never fail on entertaining me. Then, I spent time at my parent’s house, and ate Pho Ga (Vietnamese chicken noodle soup); it was heartwarming. A day well spent with two of my little cousins (yes, they are 6 and 4 and they are my cousins) at a park running around at the playground (I began to feel my age). Celebration ended on a high note. W surprised me with a romantic dinner at a restaurant in a woodside up in the mountain where the road was in complete darkness (part of the drive was freaky, narrow and windy). Here are some of Instagram snapshots (which I begin to see some fun in it).






I think now I need to take a little break from eating but do more reflecting.

Exactly six months ago, I decided to take a break from my 9-5 job and the corporate world. Shortly after, W and I went on our honeymoon in Maldvies (wish we didn’t have to leave the island or could stay longer) and did some traveling in Asia, then a couple of the cities back in the US. In between and during the travels, we completed two marathons (that’s all for this season but already got a marathon line up for 2013 spring). During my free time, I caught up on a lot of Asian TV dramas. I watched so much my head hurt and spin at the end of each evening. So I stopped.

Then, I started this blog to begin logging the successful recipes I experiment from my kitchen. The blog serves as a development of my culinary skills (that I am determined to give it a try). And of course, to keep myself busy (busy enough to stay away from watching those Asian TV dramas). For the first time in a while, I enjoy and passionate about what I am doing.

I really appreciate all the support that I have received from my fellow bloggers and followers! Your support have encourage me to continue on my journey. Your blogs have continue to inspire me to continue to create my journey. My goal is to make A Beautiful Day an inspirational space to create and taste. I will continue to strive for that.

I am so blessed and grateful to have a wonderful husband who totally support, give me courage, and believe in whatever I want to do. And always there to give me a little push when I have doubt in myself (that is a push I need from time to time). He is the greatest present I have ever had.



This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s My Birthday and I Eat Too Much

  1. Happy Belated Birthday!!!! It’s wonderful that you have the opportunity to take some time off and explore what you enjoy doing. I’m just discovering what a wonderful place the blogosphere really is, and the wonderful people you come across along the way. And kudos to your husband too :)

  2. Happy belated birthday Irene!
    Looks like you had a wonderful time enjoying plenty of delicious food and happy gifts!

    here’s my gift to you!
    I’ve just nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award!
    (http://dishbydish.net/2012/11/15/beautiful-blogger-award/)

    Congratulations dear!
    xoxo

  3. gotasté says:

    happy belated birthday!

  4. mariqia says:

    Love the outfit and belated happy birthday!

  5. parth893 says:

    IT’s little Late but :) , Happy Birthday***
    That food looks yum~~ yum~~ Awesome ..
    & you are passionate about what you are doing~~ ma’am you’r doing great. – believe in your self .

    “The flower that blooms in adversity is the rarest and most beautiful of all.”

  6. Subhan Zein says:

    Happy Belated birthday, Irene. Hope you are blessed with much love and happiness. :-) And thank you so much for your recent follow to my blog. I hope my poems and short stories do not disappoint. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. :-)

    Subhan Zein

Fruit for Thought

