Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur with Angel Hair

Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur-17

Maybe it is the fact that I was born and raise in Vietnam, I am fond of eating animal internal organs. Beef tripe is one of them.

Often I would order the Ginger Scallion Beef Tripe at Chinese dim sum as W likes it very much.

Tripe refers to the edible part of a cow’s stomach. There are two types – honeycomb and book. Both are appropriately named after their physical looks. Honeycomb tripe looks exactly in the shape of a honeycomb whereas book tripe has layer over layers that flip like a book.

Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur-3

Tripe promotes a reduced-calorie diet as it contains as much protein as meat, since each 4-oz. serving contains nearly 14 g of protein. Tripe is only fattening if you cook it in fat or eat it with high-fat foods.

I’d made the ginger scallion numerous times before, the way my mom taught me, but was opting for a more soupy/sauce base this time.

Notice that tripe itself has no flavor or almost tasteless, it could be added to any type of sauce/soup and the flavor will be deeply absorbed, especially when you slow-cook it.

Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur is a filling, low-calorie dish with a clear broth and added vegetables. This dish promotes stress-free and low-maintenance for holiday cooking as it could be prepared one day ahead.

Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur-14
Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur-19

I personally prefer book tripe over honeycomb due to its crunchier texture. Either type of tripe tastes wonderfully in this chasseur (or even a combo if you might). Please note that book tripe takes two or three times longer to cook than honeycomb tripe. And you don’t want to overcook honeycomb trip as you will get a fat-like texture which I detest. Very much.

Let me know what you think if you ever get a chance to make this. Feedback is highly recommended.

Enjoy your holiday weekend! Nom nom nom!

Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur-23
Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur-12

Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur

Serving:4
Ingredients:

2 pounds beef- book tripe
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, thinly sliced
6 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
42 oz.(1 can of 28-oz and 1 can of 14-oz.) diced tomatoes
2 tbsp chopped fresh thyme leaves, or 1 tsp dried
2 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary leaves, or 1 tsp dried
2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano leaves, or 1 tsp dried
1/2 cup dry white wine
Salt and pepper, to taste
8oz angel hair, cooked to al dente
1/4 cup Parmigiano-Reggiano, freshly grated
1 bunch mint leaves, finely chopped
Preparation
In a pot, fill with enough water to cover the tripe. Bring to a boil, about 10 – 15 minutes. Drain and rinse with cold water. This process helps to reduce the gammy smell and fat of the tripe.
In the same pot, combine the tripe and vanilla. Add enough water to cover the tripe by 2 inches. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook until the tripe is very tender, about 1 to 1 1/4 hours. Replenishing the water as necessary. (Note: if using honeycomb tripe, skip this step.)
Drain the tripe and allow to cool. Slice the tripe into 1-inch strips.
In a skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion and garlic to cook until soft and light golden brown, about 3 minutes. Add tripe and saute for 3 minutes. Add tomato sauce, herbs and wine and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and covered, for 45 minutes. Stirring often and cook until sauce thicken. Season with salt.
Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine the grated cheese, pepper and mint and stir to combine.
Divide pasta evenly among 4 bowls. Add Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur. Top with cheese mixture. Serve and enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Food & Drink, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beef Tripe Sauce Chasseur with Angel Hair

  1. Born and raised in Australia, but I love tripe too!!! Actually, I’m a big fan of offal and I attribute that to my parents. I think Vietnamese people in general (and other ethnic cultures) don’t like to waste food, so almost every part of an animal is edible. Interesting idea for a pasta sauce. I’ll have to try this and make it for my parents! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas Irene. Catch you in the New Year! 🙂

  2. A Simple Guy says:

    wow.. nice. I have never tried the beef tripe with spag before. It is a good idea. =)

  3. gotasté says:

    i love beef tripe. over here in singapore, we have the popular hainanese beef noodle that comes with mixed beef and organs.

    this is a variation that is new to me and it looks good. Great effort!

  4. rimassolosailingaroundtheworldm says:

    Looks very a good food.I am hungry now.Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  5. vnvie says:

    Nice pairing of tripe and pasta; will have to give this a try!

  6. Hi dear!

    think i’ve only tried beef tripe once (they call it mondongo in Argentina) and it looks like a towel to me! Didn’t like it at all, but your recipe sure looks yummy!

    Merry Christmas!

  7. christine says:

    J’adore ce plat ma belle mère le réussit magnifiquement bien et moi je me régale !

  8. Elena says:

    hey what camara do you use for your blog? your photos are amazing and so is your blog!

  9. I have never in my life thought to try to cook tripe myself! I’m taiwanese (though American born) but I LOVE tripe – any shape or form! U have inspired me to try this dish out, as well as to follow ur blog to see what other cooking adventures I might learn! Thanks for the tips!

    Alice
    of http://borderlinefab.wordpress.com

Fruit for Thought