My Heart Goes Nuts 4 You

I am feeling the love!

This page is taken over by red and white.

Do you know what that means?

Yes! Valentine’s Day is fast approaching.

I am featuring a Valentine treat that you don’t want to miss.

My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies

This treat is called “My Heart Goes Nuts 4U”.

It has a bit of nut.

It’s in the shape of a heart.

It’s pretty in reddish pink.

My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies
My Heart Goes Nut Cookies

Make these for your kids to share with classmates.

Wrap these in goodie bags to give to your friends.

Tell your better half “My Heart Goes Nuts 4U” with these.

My Heart Goes Nut Cookies

Lastly, with the continuing support from you, I want to say,

My Heart Goes Nut Cookies

“My Heart Goes Nuts 4U” Cookies

adopted from Baking with Martha Stewart recipe book
Serving: a dozen
Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup (4.5oz) blanched hazelnuts
2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, room temperature
2/3 cup granulated sugar
3 large egg yolks
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp freshly grated lemon zest
1/2 cup raspberry jam, for filling
1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, for dusting
Preparation:
In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.
In a food processor, pulse hazelnuts until finely ground. Whisk the ground hazelnuts into the flour mixture. Set aside.
In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter and granulated sugar on medium-high speed (6 or 8 on KitchenAid) until light and fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. Add thee egg yolks, vanilla, and lemon zest. Beat to combine, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.
With mixer on low speed, add hazelnut-flour mixture, and beat until just combined, 45 – 50 seconds.
Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured work surface, as well as hands, divide in half, and shape into a flattened disk. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate at least an hour or overnight. If time is a concern, place in freezer for 30 minutes to harden the dough.
Remove one disk of dough from the refrigerator, and let stand until softened slightly. This will help keep the dough from cracking when rolled. On a large piece of parchment paper lightly dusted with flour, roll dough to 1/8-inch thickness. To prevent sticking while rolling, add more flour to the top and bottom of dough, and make sure it doesn’t get too soft. Transfer parchment paper with rolled out dough to a baking sheet; freeze until firm, about 10 – 15 minutes. Repeat with remaining dough. You can stack the parchment paper and dough.
Preheat the oven to 325F. Line two large backings sheets with parchment paper or baking mat. Remove one sheet of dough with parchment paper from freezer. Working quickly, cut into heart shapes with a 3″ cookie cutter. Cut out center from half the shapes with a 2″ cutter. If the dough begins to soften too much, return to the freezer for a few minutes. Transfer open hearts to prepared baking sheets, about 1 – 1 1/2-inch apart. Freeze until firm, about 10 minutes. You can either bake the cutout centers for bite-size cookies, or reroll to make the larger hearts.
Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until cookies are crisp and lightly golden all over, about 12 minutes. Allow cookies to cook in the baking sheets, about 5 minutes; transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Cooled cookies can be stored overnight in an airtight container at room temperature before filling. Pipe raspberry jam on the flat sides of the whole hearts. Sift confectioners’ sugar over the open hearts. Cover the whole hearts with the open hearts. Top open hearts with jam. Cookies should be eaten the day they’re filled or fridge them.

You may also like some Champagne Strawberry Jello.

Blog Signature-2

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to My Heart Goes Nuts 4 You

  1. Assia says:

    Beautiful! Love the recipe and the pictures!

  2. scott2608 says:

    All I can say is WOW!

  3. johncoyote says:

    The cookies and food look very good. Best way to a lover heart. Good food and love. Thank you for the amazing photos.

  4. irena078 says:

    O my god, I have made exactly that Valentine day cookies for last 10 years!! Now I have to find another one 😦 No, seriously these are BEAUTIFUL ❤ … and also the photos!

  5. These are so pretty – fantastic photography too! x

  6. petit4chocolatier says:

    Irene, these are absolutely exquisite on every level imaginable! I love them. Your pictures are amazing. Happy early Valentine’s Day 🙂

  7. gotasté says:

    Wow! These are more than gorgeous and better than lovely. So much effort and so much love been put into it.

  8. vnvie says:

    These are gorgeous and I love the name of these cookies! -Veronica

  9. Those cookies look very “labor intense” — sounds too difficult for me, but I am married to someone who would enjoy making them — so I will pass the recipe on to her! Thanks for sharing!

    • Irene says:

      Hi David! Hahaha…it might sound like that but not really while you are in the process of making. Just remember to give your wife some extra special love, like a massage and swoon her on Valentine’s Day 🙂

  10. Leah says:

    SO cute! I swear, your photography amazes me every time I stop by. These look incredible – great job. 🙂

  11. So gorgeous, Irene! Love, love, love it! Thanks so much for sharing =)

  12. parth893 says:

    Wow …Wow …Wow… So~~~Beautiful IRENE* I Cant Explain How much i liked Emm. 😀

    Happy Valentin’s Day in Advance 😀
    I must SAy you Are Great Photographer & Awesome Cook Too.

  13. Hessed Torres says:

    You are such an awesome photo blogger! Love it! It made me hungry, though. 🙂

  14. trendbytes says:

    Gorgeous photography! If you don’t have a book or are working on one, you should be!

  15. Irene…I can’t imagine Valentine’s day is just round the corner! It feels like Christmas and New Year’s just went by! What amazing photos as always! I can’t wait to buy my own DSLR and play around with it! 🙂

    • Irene says:

      Have you purchase your long wanting DSLR? I hope you are having a great time in Singapore. Happy New Year and Valentine’s Day!

      • Hello! sorry for the late reply! yep i bought a DSLR at long last! i got the 650 D and a tamron 18-55mm /f2.8 lents. so i didnt have to buy the kit lens and another one. 🙂 am still learning how to play around with the camera! it’s amazing how many different aspects to photography there are!!

        • Irene says:

          Silly girl. I rather you go spend quality one with your familia then reply to me 😛

          How do you like it so far? It could definitely do a lot more than a p&s. and you might not want to go back to a p&s either.

          Cheers!

  16. These are so, so lovely! I absolutely adore the homemade, ‘rustic’ look in food, and these look so delicious! I’m definitely trying them out (though they probably won’t look as nice!).

  17. Ah the cookies look gorgeous, I love your photos too!

  18. gpicone says:

    Mmmmmmmmm They look delicious!

  19. bobiniblog says:

    Thanks for stopping by at my blog! Happy that I just discovered your blog too 🙂 I love this blog post of yours, the cookies look so super cute, and your pictures are awesome.

  20. restlessjo says:

    Such a pretty post! I’m hopeless in the kitchen but full of admiration for those who can.

  21. Pingback: 30 Heart-Shaped Food Ideas for Valentine's Day - The Scrap Shoppe

Fruit for Thought