A Rustic Rendition of Shrimp Ravioli with Sun-Dried Tomatoes Salsa

Love Shrimp Ravioli

I love pasta, all kind, but something about ravioli that makes my heart skips a beat.

A plate of heart-felt ravioli.

Now, homemade dough is absolutely admirable but that’s not for me as it’s time-consuming to knead, roll, fill and cut.

Wonton wrappers come to my rescue. A perfectly inexpensive substitute, no mess, and the next best thing to whip up ravioli in less than 30 minutes.

Perfect for Valentine, Birthday, and any kind of romantic and lovely celebration and entertainment.

Love Shrimp Ravioli
Love Shrimp Ravioli

The simple classy heart ravioli is effortlessly made to please eyes and taste.

Love Shrimp Ravioli
Love Shrimp Ravioli

Love Shrimp Ravioli (愛心蝦餃)with Sun-Dried Tomatoes Salsa

Preparation Time: 20 minutes
Cooking Time: 10 minutes
Serving: 2

Shrimp Ravioli
20 medium-size fresh shrimps, washed, peeled and pat dried.
Pinch of salt and freshly ground pepper
40 wonton skins
A small cup of cold water
A heart-shaped cookie cutter

Sun-Dried Tomatoes Salsa
1 tsp olive oil
4 oz. sun-dried tomatoes, thinly sliced
1 red pepper, thinly sliced and roasted
2 tbsp Italian parsley, chopped
2 tbsp mint, chopped
1 1/2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup roasted sunflower seeds or pine nuts
Grated Asiago, Permasan, and Romano

Preparation:
Marinate shrimps with salt and pepper.

Place shrimp in center of wonton skin. Wet surrounding of shrimp with water using a brush or fingertip. Place another piece of wonton skin on top and press firmly to seal, from inner to outer edges to get out all air bubbles. Place cookie cutter in center surrounding the shrimp and press down to cut. Set aside ravioli on a plate (floured the bottom of plate to keep wonton skin from getting wet).

Love Shrimp Ravioli

(click on picture to enlarge)

Bring a large pan of water to a boil. Meanwhile, warm a frying pan on medium heat. Add olive oil, sun-dried tomatoes, red pepper, parsley, mint, and vinegar. Stir to warm through. Be careful of oil splattering due to vinegar. Stir in Sunflower seeds or pine nuts. Remove from heat.

Add a pinch of salt and olive oil to boiling water. Cook ravioli until they float to the top. Strain and plate them into desired arrangement. Spoon on the sun-dried tomatoes sauce and top with cheeses and freshly ground pepper. Serve immediately.

Love Shrimp Ravioli

Now, I could sit back and enjoy a glass of wine and relax while the night is still young.

Easy cooking, more time for entertainment, and happy me.

Have a beautiful day!

Blog Signature-3

This entry was posted in Chinese, Food & Drink, Italian, Quick Meal, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Rustic Rendition of Shrimp Ravioli with Sun-Dried Tomatoes Salsa

  1. rbjello says:

    This is so inventive! I’ve never seen anything like, but it’s such a cute idea. I love it. Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂

  2. What a wonderful idea! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Bernice says:

    What a great idea – I never thought of that!

  4. What a fantastic idea of using wanton skin! I love it. I gotta try this thank you 🙂

  5. Oh my goodness ! I LOVE dried tomatoes..!!! This has to be fantasticly awesomely delicious !!! 😉 (sorry for this neologisme…) Cheers, I gonna try that…

  6. KK says:

    Beautiful food that doesn’t take time to make, that is music to my ears. I will have to try these when I get a craving for “mock shrimp.” Thanks

  7. Leah says:

    Using wonton wrappers is a brilliant idea! I love your heart shape cutouts too. 🙂

  8. petit4chocolatier says:

    Irene, this is very elegant and creative! I love the ravioli’s. And I love shrimp. A perfect combination. The salsa looks and sounds absolutely delicious too!

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

    • Irene says:

      Not at all and am happy that you want to reblog it.

      It’s such a wonderful dish, not to mention it is quite easy to whip up too.

      Have a wonderful weekend, dear!

  9. That’s too pretty to eat. Plus, I’d feel unromantic if I spoiled the hearts. Then I’d get really hungry and grumpy. Very nice, however.

  10. Amy @ Healthy and Fit for Real says:

    Such a cute way to serve ravioli! great for date night.

  11. gotasté says:

    This is such a unique creation my friend! I love the east meets west kind of feel and the thought behind it all. So many beautiful hearts to share. Just like yours 🙂

  12. liveblissful says:

    i’ve never seen heart shaped ravioli, very creative and cute 🙂

  13. Judy P says:

    The main thing I love about blogs is there is no lack of ideas and creativity. If only I had a shred of both I would be thrilled but I have to rely on the gifted ones to supply me with great ideas. Thanks, these are so easy but lovely !

Fruit for Thought