Lychee Honey Oatmeal for Breakfast

“Eat your breakfast!” said Mama and Papa. As we all should know, breakfast is the most important meal of the day, as well as eating a right breakfast. From a night of hunger, breakfast fuels and kick start your day in a beautiful way.

Breakfast was not fancy in my parent’s house when I grew up. A piece of toast drizzled with condensed milk and a glass of milk were considered awesome. Sometimes I would just grab a twinkie on the go as I rushed out of the house. Most of the time, we would have cereals. I sort of stop having breakfast when I moved out for college. The extra 15 or 20 minutes of sleeping in was far more important than a bowl of cereal or a piece of toast. My stomach often would growl loudly in lecture classes that my friends and neighbors giggled at me or raised their eyebrows with that unbelievable look. It was hard to concentrate in lectures.

Breakfast was also rare when I started working. Obviously, I spent the 15 minutes of breakfast time by cuddling in my blanket. By the time I got into work, around 9:30 or 10, I tried to chew on some crackers so my stomach wouldn’t growl and to stay awake in morning meetings. In meetings, I would daydream of what delicious food to eat for lunch. So, you might say, half of the day was probably unproductive as my brain cells hadn’t start working yet.

Now that I am married, for almost a year, breakfast is a must in my household. Walt wants his breakfast. Walt demands his breakfast. When I am not around to make breakfast, he would eat whatever he could find in the pantry (cereal bars, granola bars, potato chip, chocolates, m&m, candy bars). That would be his breakfast. For the love of my husband, I am happy to get out of bed early to make us breakfast. Most likely, some lychee honey oatmeal.

Weather is turning a little colder in the morning for the summer. A bowl of hot oatmeal warms and awaken the body. Drizzle with some honey. Sprinkle with some in season berries. It makes your heart smile.

A Beautiful Day encourages you to enjoy each wonderful morning with a light and healthy breakfast.

This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Quick Meal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Fruit for Thought

